ARAUZ, Randall, B.Sc.

Costa Rica (1961- )

Last updated: December 7, 2019 at 20:34 pm

Shark and sea turtle researcher and activist; studies have focused on sea turtle nesting biology, interactions between fisheries, sea turtles and sharks, and migratory movements of sea turtles and sharks in the Eastern Tropical Pacific; has officially served as a Costa Rican delegate at international conventions such as UNCLOS, CITES and CMS, promoting regional and global shark conservation policy, as well as on official councils such as the CITES Scientific Council and the Cocos Island Regional Council; launched an ongoing campaign in 2001 against the shark fin industry; founded PRETOMA (Asociación Programa Restauración de Tortugas Marinas) in 1997; was a plaintiff in the suits that shut down the green turtle slaughtering in 1999; imposed a “Fins Attached” landing system for sharks in 2005; halted the operation of tuna farms in 2007; shut down the illegal use of private docks by foreign flagged shark finning fleets in 2010; shut down the Costa Rican shrimp trawl fishery in 2013 (court order phase out by 2019); currently consults for the Colorado-based Fins Attached Marine Research and Conservation, and volunteers for the Costa Rican-based Endangered Marine Animal Rescue Center (CREMA).

Drawing international attention to the inhumane and environmentally catastrophic shark finning industry, Randall Arauz led the campaign to halt the practice in Costa Rica, making his country an international model for shark protection. — The Goldman Environmental Prize

Sea Hero (Scuba Diving Magazine, 2019)
PEW Fellowship in Marine Conservation (PEW Charitable Trust, 2016)
100 Guardian Angels of the Planet (Ecological Green Games, UNESCO, 2013)
Global Shining Hero Award (The Supreme Master Ching Hai International Association, 2010)
Gothemburg Award for Sustainable Development (City of Gottemburg, Sweden, 2010)
Goldman Environmental Prize for Central and South America (Goldman Fund, 2010)
Mention of Honor | Central American Environmental Torch Award (International Union for the Conservation of Nature, 2007)
Mention of Honor (Shark Project, 2006)
Whitley Fund for Nature Gold Award (Whitley Fund for Nature, 2004)
Neotropical Conservation Award (Conservation International, 2004)

Before commenting, please be aware that the Diving Almanac is not an award nor a hall of fame. It is simply a listing of individuals, past and present, that have made a significant contribution to the world diving community. Also note that comments are moderated: (1) Stay on topic (2) Be respectful (3) Refrain from vulgarity and abusive language (4) Do not make personal complaints about a person’s character, business, work or associations (5) Do not publish materials that violate copyright. OFFENDING COMMENTS WILL BE DELETED.
If you would like to nominate someone to our Who’s Who, please complete the form on the nomination page. For details on existing profiles, please contact the Editor.
In order to ensure your browsing experience is as enjoyable as possible, banners are kept to an absolute minimum, which means that advertising revenues alone cannot sustain this 100% FREE publication. Researching and updating the Diving Almanac requires a lot of time and dedication. If you believe the diving community needs a central body of information to record, validate and make available our shared history and accomplishments, please show your support by making a contribution to the Diving Almanac via PayPal (Porbeagle Press). Thank you!