EGSTROM, Glen, Ph.D.

USA (1928- )

Last updated: April 18, 2017 at 0:30 am

Writer and author on the subject of aquatic sports and scuba diving safety; UCLA Diving Officer from 1964 to 1992; ran a recreational and scientific scuba diving training program at UCLA; Director of the Underwater Kinesiology Laboratory; former Secretary and Executive Board of the Undersea & Hyperbaric Medical Society; Fellow of the American College of Sports Medicine; former President of NAUI (1970-75); former President of the Los Angeles County Underwater Instructors Association (1967-70); Executive Committee of the California Academy of Underwater Sciences (1980-86); former President (1989) and Executive Committee (1980-90) of the American Academy of Underwater Sciences; former National Advisory Committee on Aquatic Safety (1986-1996); consultant to the U.S. Navy, NOAA, NASA and many more.

Honours and Awards:

AAUS Conrad Limbaugh Memorial Award (2003)
NAUI Lifetime Achievement Award (2002)
Diver of the Year (Beneath the Sea, 2002)
American Academy of Underwater Sciences Service Award (2001)
Los Angeles County U/W Instructors Assoc. Outstanding Instructor (2001)
NAUI Hall of Honor (2000)
Craig Hoffman Memorial Award (UHMS, 1995)
DAN/ROLEX Diver of the Year (1994)
Channel Islands Council of Divers Education and Diving Safety Award (1993)
L.A. County U/W Instructors Assoc. Founders Award (1991)
DEMA Reaching Out Award (1989)
DEMA Hall of Fame (1989)
Oceaneering International Award (Undersea Medical Society, 1985)
NAUI Distinguished Service Award (1982)
NAUI Distinguished Service Award (1981)
NOGI (Science, 1981)
NAUI Outstanding Contribution to Diving Award (1978)
NAUI Leonard Greenstone Diving Safety Award (1976)
Diver of the Year (Our World-Underwater, 1974)
Los Angeles County Underwater Safety Award (1974)
NOGI (Distinguished Service, 1969)
Conrad Limbaugh Award (L.A. County U/W Instructors Assoc., 1966)


Comments are moderated: (1) Stay on topic (2) Be respectful (3) Refrain from vulgarity and abusive language (4) Do not publish materials that violate copyright. OFFENDING COMMENTS WILL BE DELETED.